Subscribe to Series:


A Word In Season: Volume 1

R.J. Rushdoony

Daily Messages on the Faith For All of Life

Introducing the first volume in a series of books with daily messages by R. J. Rushdoony on the uncompromising faith.

These daily messages on the faith for all of life are unlike any compilation of Christian “devotional” ever published. In these pages, you won’t find the overly introspective musings of a Christian pietist; what you’ll discover are the hard-hitting convictions of a man whose sole commitment was faithfulness to God’s law-word and representing that binding Word to his readers.

Although Dr. R. J. Rushdoony is most known for his scholarly works on theology, history, philosophy, economics, education, and statecraft, A Word in Season reveals the intense, but simple, approach to applying one’s faith to every area of life and thought. This is all done in a format of bite-sized readings on the uncompromising faith.

The multi-volume series is taken from over 430 articles written by Rushdoony over the span of 25 years (1966-1991) for the California Farmer, an agricultural periodical that provided him a regular column entitled “The Pastor’s Pulpit.” It has long been a desire of many to see these insightful and challenging articles published in a book format. 

Chapters 1-5
1. The Ultimate Sin
2. Self-Righteousness
3. Proud Sins
4. True Blindness
5. Vision

Chapters 6-10
6. Entering Life
7. Excuses
8. The Right to Sin?
9. How to Pollute Other People
10. Contagion

Chapters 11-15
11. Faith and Injustice
12. False Cures
13. Barking
14. Salvation by Nagging
15. Tolerance

Chapters 16-20
16. Tolerance and Intolerance
17. Moral Standards
18. A Test of Man
19. Envy
20. Fence Breakers

Chapters 21-25
21. Is Chastity Obsolete?
22. Hypocrites
23. Religious Hypochondriacs
24. Slander
25. The Love of a Lie

Chapters 26-30
26. The Unwashed Generation
27. A Letter to a Sleepy Friend
28. Solitude
29. How to Insure Trouble
30. The Depths of Satan

Chapters 31-35
31. Irrelevant Preaching
32. The Return to Barbarism
33. Charity Begins at Home
34. Poverty by Choice
35. Who Owns the Child?

Chapters 36-40
36. Train Up a Child
37. The Law of the Pack
38. How to Produce a Hippie
39. As a Man Thinketh
40. Fools

Chapters 41-45
41. Learning and Wisdom
42. Can Experience Teach
43. Pruning
44. Testing and Purity
45. Personal Problems

Chapters 46-50
46. Humility
47. Happiness
48. Is God an Insurance Agent?
49. Is He a Christian?
50. Fearfulness

Chapters 51-55
51. What Do You Stand For?
52. Standards
53. Murder Mysteries
54. Shiloh
55. The Price of Salvation

Chapters 56-60
56. The First Days of the New Creation
57. Against Spiritual People
58. Duty
59. Problems
60. Trustung God

Chapters 61-65
61. The open Door
62. Under the Eye of God
63. I Know People
64. The Principle of Change
65. The Right Way